AdenBADN
2 min readMar 31, 2023

--

This is an interesting one and it got me thinking...

So, to take this subject one or two levels further, we should also bring "context" into it. As I always like to say, "context is everything."

When you bring science into the issue, it made me think of boiling water. As standard, we've come to accept that water boils at 100 degrees C, or 500 degrees or whatever it is in F. But even this isn't absolute. If you're boiling water on top of Mt Everest, due to all sorts of other factors like air pressure, water will boil at around 68 degrees C.

So, while we can always gain some insight from the context of things, people still might not have the time and luxury to put that into perspective. It might not even be practical for them to try, when they do have that time off, because energy running low and so on.

As Jiddu Krishnamurti said, "to understand is to transform what is."

So... While I wish people did have the time to stop and think, I would plant a flag at every turn that thinking is not where it ends. Thinking is no shortcut to truth. Along with our perspectives, limited as they may be, we also need context.

The context is feedback from nature, from reality, from the subject of our considerations. Because the map is not the territory, and what we think about the thing is not the thing itself.

Thanks for the write-up. I agree with you and hope I could add something of value here. I'll be looking forward to more of your content, especially when it comes to personal thoughts and considerations like this.

I much prefer things like this than the overbearing plethora of lists and AI stuff making the rounds at the moment!

--

--

AdenBADN

Believe and Disbelieve Nothing. Philosophy. Technology. Unity. A futurist living in the present t.me/adenbadn / adenbadn@pm.me / buymeabeer.com/AdenBADN