AdenBADN
1 min readMay 10, 2023

--

Fascinating read, and I can tell by the titles of your other posts that you've written a lot about things that interest me directly.

I'll be taking a proper dive into them all tomorrow.

As for thoughts being of a spontaneous, responsive nature, I've recognised this too. This is where I draw a practical distinction between thought itself and the action of thinking.

Thinking, being something we do, seems to have developed along with (and perhaps interdependent with) language, and I see it as to some extent driven by language.

Thought itself seems to predate language.

This is a practical distinction to make when dealing with, for example, problems that have their origin in false abstraction or concepts - there's a lot more we can do to reorient our abstractions, ideas, beliefs, etc. Overcoming our errors and contradictions is not always the easiest thing, but it helps to know we're often dealing with linguistic, cultural, conceptual issues rather than neurological ones.

It's also fun for me to imagine a time when humans existed in a state where we were able to passively have thoughts, but not able to deliberately think. The savage mind.

I've also had a quick scan of the contents page of your book. Once I'm done with your Medium posts, I might just throw myself into that too.

Thanks for the write-up, and glad to connect with you here.

--

--

AdenBADN

Believe and Disbelieve Nothing. Philosophy. Technology. Unity. A futurist living in the present t.me/adenbadn / adenbadn@pm.me / buymeabeer.com/AdenBADN