AdenBADN
1 min readMay 14, 2023

--

Again, props for the Fresco mention. I love to see it. I've found myself citing him more and more in my writing lately.

As for crypto being used as an alternative, I've considered this long and hard myself.

Unfortunately, the cryptosphere is still largely dominated by "whales" - the rich, who, for the sake of capitalist ventures rather than decentralisation, privacy and so on, buy up large amounts of certain currencies.

Not only will this contribute to further inequality, but it also allows them a great deal of power in terms of things like price manipulation, etc.

To be clear, I absolutely love the crypto technology. But I can't stand having discussions about crypto in terms of mere financial investment. It completely puts me off talking about it with people, because I'm so personally invested in the underlying tech and the spirit of decentralisation, resistance, "power to the people" and so on.

Perhaps some crypto-protocol can be used as a stepping stone towards something like Fresco's Resource-Based Economy. That, to me, would be preferable to the dystopian nightmare of CBDC's and eternal capitalism that currently threatens us.

I'm not an anti-capitalist, but I'm not a capitalist either. I can give credit where it's due, but be completely comfortable pointing out its endless flaws. What I am (partly thanks to Fresco) is a futurist, and want to see us learn from the errors of our past and present.

--

--

AdenBADN

Believe and Disbelieve Nothing. Philosophy. Technology. Unity. A futurist living in the present t.me/adenbadn / adenbadn@pm.me / buymeabeer.com/AdenBADN